Meet the Silver Ferns Squad!

profile maia wilson

Maia Wilson


Teenaged shooter Maia Wilson exploded into the elite netball ranks with all the demeanour of a seasoned professional.

Having already played basketball for New Zealand when she joined the Central Pulse in her first year out of college in 2016, Wilson displayed the rich array of qualities that have taken her on a meteoric rise.

A key member of the highly successful Mount Albert Grammar School side, Wilson didn’t take a backward step when playing against much more experienced opponents, showing strong netballing nous, unwavering accuracy under the hoop, ability to lose a defender and unflappable temperament when becoming the talk of the town in her debut year.

That quickly transpired into selection in the Silver Ferns squad and making her international debut the same year.

With an acquired wisdom and maturity beyond her years, Wilson is an outstanding young talent and poised to leave a considerable mark on the game.

She was a key performer in the NZU21 team’s unbeaten run to the World Youth Cup title in 2017 while also being part of the FAST5 Ferns triumphant run to the World Series title in 2016.

Player # 163
Positions GS
DOB 21/09/1997
Height 187.5cm
Test Caps 10
Debut 14/09/2016
vs Jamaican Sunshine Girls

National Squads

  • Silver Ferns Squad: 2004-2014
  • Commonwealth Games Gold Medallist: 2006, 2010
  • Commonwealth Games Silver Medallist: 2014
  • World Netball Series Gold Medallist: 2009
  • FAST5 Netball World Series Gold Medallist: 2013
  • World Netball Championship Silver Medallist: 2007, 2011
  • New Zealand A: 2004
  • New Zealand U21: 2003-2005
  • World Youth Netball Championship Gold Medallist: 2005
  • NZA: 2004

Silver Ferns Debut

  • 14 November 2005: vs Barbados, at Goal Defence and Goal Keeper
  • The Arena, Kingston, Jamaica
  • Jamaican Tri-Series

Silver Ferns Milestones

  • 50th Test Match: vs Cook Islands playing Goal Defence,
  • 5 October 2010
  • Commonwealth Games
  • Dehli, India


  • ANZ Championship: Waikato-Bay of Plenty Magic, 2008-2011
  • National Bank Cup: Waikato-Bay of Plenty Magic, 2003-2007